top of page
  • Writer's pictureLester Pangilinan

MultiCultural Identity




Culture is like stained glasses, unique to their own and if similar to color they are different in shape. Mosaics are what we call when we create an art filled with stained glasses; Just like Third culture kids, mixed with different experiences compared to their parents. Being a third culture kid means that a person has grown in a culture different from what their parents were brought up from; for instance, parents who grew up in the Philippines but their kid grows up in the States, completely different types of culture. Culture in turn influences an individual’s identity, characterizing them into groups of people and a sense of belonging.

 

Diving further into the world of culture, to understand more of this topic. I interviewed an individual who is a third culture kid (TCK) born and raised in Thailand as Filipino and has experienced all the highs a low of such.

 

Interviewer:

            Would you change anything about your life? Why?

TCK:

            I would like to be fluent in Bisaya, maybe Tagalog and Thai because life would be easier and I would be comfortable talking to people and vice versa

 

Going in with the first question, I wanted to know if she ever wanted to change her life about being a TCK. Turns out, she wanted to learn her own dialect being used by her family but not only that she also wanted to be fluent for both Tagalog and Thai.

 

Interviewer:

            What is the best thing about your life as a TCK?

TCK:

            Hard to say really. I guess maybe sharing the knowledge I know about each culture from the Philippines and Thailand

 

Interviewer:

            What does that feel like with your physical mannerism

TCK:

            When I am comfortable around somebody, I act more pinoy [laughs]. My Filipino accent comes out and I say some Bisaya words. Sometimes I do act Thai through expressions too. But around people I don’t really know, I act more internationally.

 

Interviewer:

            Do you ever feel nervous when going back to your Passport Country? What are you nervous about?

TCK:

            Conversing. I know everybody can speak English, but from my own experience it does not feel too great when the fact that they have to speak English with me get made fun of. So, I do get nervous when I have to Speak.       

 

The conversation with her was amazing and insightful towards the experiences of TCK’s and further understanding on how they are shaped in a multicultural level.

 

Sharing the knowledge I know about each culture from the Philippines and Thailand”

 

A beautiful quote from her, as it goes to show that her mindset is far more open and understanding to the truth of both countries and people. However, there are still many things that would create hardships for a Third Culture Individual

 

From the conversation I had with her, she amplifies language as a barrier between both her Host Country and Passport Country. Situations may differ for some TCK however these are common problems.

 

The adjustments of going to the Passport country is immensely difficult as they are then countered with many issues such as, mannerisms and languages.

 

The world of a multicultural individual is a constant search of identity. They often give us a new perspective of viewing certain things, they are able to alter our understanding of cultures and the possible future of individuals who has in turn the same mind sets of openness. We could learn from them on how we could tackle differences of culture and identity. Unspoken heroes of generations to comes inspiring us and others like them that they are not alone and is flourishing in a multicultural sense.

Comments


Top Stories

bottom of page